The Cognac production area was delimited by the decree of May 1st,1909.

Based on the soil features described by the geologist Henri Coquand in 1860,

6 Cognac growing areas (crus) were delimited and then ratified by decree in 1938:

Champagnes (Grande and Petite Champagne), Borderies,

and Bois (Fins Bois, Bons Bois, and Bois à Terroirs).

The crus received their names when the local forests were cleared at the beginning of the 19th century.

The central Cognac crus, Grande Champagne, Petite Champagne and the Borderies

are the most densely planted with vines.


12 th December – The 6 Crus of the Cognac Appelation

  • Description →
  • History
Back to top